SMA Alumni Athletic Hall of Fame
Ron Mafrige, Class of 1955

Ron Mafrige, Class of 1955

Ron Mafrige ’55, An historic first in Academy history was recorded as two brothers, Steve and Ron Mafrige, were inducted into the San Marcos Academy Athletic Hall of Fame during Homecoming 2010. The men join their brother, Don Mafrige, a 1985 inductee into the Academy’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

Ron entered San Marcos Academy as a third grader and attended 9 years, graduating in 1955.

During his Academy career, Ron played six sports: football, baseball, basketball, swimming, tennis and track. He served as the Sergeant-At-Arms in the "A" Association and earned three letters in football. In 1953, Ron was named All-District and All-State in football.

During his senior year at SMA, Ron commanded Company "C" and served as Vice President of his class.

Following graduation, Ron earned a degree in Business Administration from Sam Houston State University, where he would later became one of the initial members of that university’s Alumni Hall of Honor.

Ron served in the U.S. Army, training Green Berets to become Medics before serving in Vietnam. After serving on active duty, Ron spent 14 years in the Army Reserves and attained the rank of Major.

In 1968, Ron established Mafrige Enterprises, a real estate firm which he owns and operates. He credits his commercial real estate success to decades of involvement in charitable work. His passion extends from the theatre program through academia to the athletic programs.

An active supporter of his alma maters, Ron previously served on the Board of Directors for San Marcos Academy and currently serves on the Board of the Sam Houston College of Business. He has established over one million dollars in scholarships for the schools.

In addition, Ron volunteers with Crime Stoppers, Make-A-Wish Foundation and over a dozen other organizations, foundations and charitable boards including St. Jude, Santa Maria Hostel and the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. In 2008, Ron was awarded the Nash Community Leader Award.

Source: induction ceremony speech excerpt